Poll: Jim Jordan Far and Away Most Popular Speaker Candidate Among GOP

Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH) is by far the most popular Speaker candidate among Republicans, the latest survey from the Economist/YouGov found.

The survey asked respondents, “Who would you most like to serve as the next Speaker of the House of Representatives?” It listed several choices from former President Donald Trump to House Republican Conference Chair Elise Stefanik (R-NY).

Among Republicans specifically, House Judiciary Committee Chairman Jim Jordan stood as the fan favorite, with more than one-third, 36 percent, identifying him as their first choice. Trump followed, as 13 percent chose him as their preferred Speaker candidate. Just five percent chose former Speaker Kevin McCarthy (R-CA), three percent chose Rep. Patrick McHenry (R-NC), and two percent chose Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-FL). All others listed saw one percent support or less among Republicans. Overall, 32 percent of Republicans remained unsure.

The survey was taken from October 14 to 17, 2023, among 1,500 U.S. adult citizens.

The survey was fielded days before Jordan was ousted as GOP Speaker-designate by a secret ballot — an act perceived by many as a betrayal to the Republican base.

Kevin McCarthy: Jim Jordan No Longer Nominee for Speaker of the House After Vote


Ultimately, there were 25 Republicans who voted against Jordan on Friday. They are as follows:

  1. Rep. Don Bacon (R-NE)
  2. Rep. Vern Buchanan (R-FL)
  3. Rep. Lori Chavez-DeRemer (R-OR)
  4. Rep. Anthony D’Esposito (R-NY)
  5. Rep. Mario Díaz-Balart (R-FL)
  6. Rep. Jake Ellzey (R-TX)
  7. Rep. Drew Ferguson (R-GA)
  8. Rep. Andrew Garbarino (R-NY)
  9. Rep. Carlos Giminez (R-FL)
  10. Rep. Tony Gonzales (R-TX)
  11. Rep. John James (R-MI)
  12. Rep. Mike Kelly (R-PA)
  13. Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-IA)
  14. Rep. Kay Granger (R-TX)
  15. Rep. John Rutherford (R-FL)
  16. Rep. Mike Simpson (R-ID)
  17. Rep. Pete Stauber (R-MN)
  18. Rep. Ken Buck (R-CO)
  19. Rep. Jen Kiggans (R-VA)
  20. Rep. Nick LaLota (R-NY)
  21. Rep. Steve Womack (R-AR)
  22. Rep. Mike Lawler (R-NY)
  23. Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA)
  24. Rep. Thomas Kean Jr. (R-NJ)
  25. Rep. Marc Molinaro (R-NY)

Eight candidates are vying for the speakership position as Republicans begin the elimination process Tuesday morning. They include Reps. Jack Bergman (R-MI), Byron Donalds (R-FL), Tom Emmer (R-MN), Kevin Hern (R-OK), Mike Johnson (R-LA), Gary Palmer (R-AL), Austin Scott (R-GA), and Pete Sessions (R-TX).

“Today at 9 am, I will gavel in the House GOP Organizing Conference for the purpose of electing a Speaker. Each candidate will be nominated by one colleague,” Rep. Stefanik announced. “Votes will be cast by secret ballot with the candidate with the lowest vote total dropped from each subsequent secret ballot. We will vote until one candidate receives a majority of the votes cast.”


Share :

post a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *